Wild in the country

By colin

Mansfield Park

I don't want to spoil the plot for anyone, but when one sees a wood-engraving like this on page ten, it isn't difficult to work out how it all ends.
I'm not a fan of nineteenth century English literature, but a friend of mine who is a big admirer of Jane Austen suggested I read Mansfield Park. I thought I might have a copy, and found amongst my little collection a Folio edition published in 1959. I duly read it, and quite enjoyed it, but I'm still not a fan. I liked the pictures most, like this one.

As a postscript I have to admit that I've been saving this for an emergency blip. I took an afternoon break from work for a stroll around the town snapping various town-scapes - reflections on the canal, sun on the parish church etc, and when I got back to work found my faithful little ixus has gone for a burton. So arriving home much later I set up this. I like it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.