Deja View

By dejaview

Appreciation

I have been teaching all day today. Quite a shock after the break! The good thing about doing supply teaching is that I enjoy my work again. I no longer have to spend hours doing the paperwork, I can just enjoy teaching the children. Today I had a delightful class of 5/6 year olds.

Although the weather was overcast and gloomy they managed to get out for their breaks. I took this blip of just one, small area of the grounds. I have taught in many schools; most of them in towns and I know how many children have to 'make do' with a small, tarmac area for playing in. No wonder there are disagreements! This school has two, large tarmac areas, an adventure area, a swimming pool (only used in the summer months), and a truly huge field.

The trouble is we only really appreciate something when we have seen what the alternative is like. I really do appreciate these lovely surroundings and I wish some of the children I have taught in the past could have had such luxuries! The children I am teaching now think nothing of it...and why would they?

To quote a million children:'It's not fair!'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.