Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Reverence

I rented a motorbike to escape the city. I'm too distracted to get much work done anyway...

It feels good to be back on a motorbike navigating the chaos of SE Asian streets. Motoring along lost half the time, but free. It is like I'm a participant in some vast pinball game with motorbikes, cars, tuk-tuks and innumerable ofther mechanisms interacting. Swimming through the tide of diesal exhuast I finally emerged to the cool fresh air and welcoming greenery of the country. Curvaceous green hills weave up the mountain to the nearby peak of Doi Suthep, a famous wat perched above Chiang Mai. I have been here before and have come back to photograph and see what I find. It is packed with visiting Thai and foreigners come out on holiday. All, must climb the hundreds of stairs to the top to arrive at a giant temple lavished in golden buddhas and crumbling motifs. Evertything is inlaid with gold and it shines like a piece of gaudy jewelery in the sun.

Walking up the steps to the tall stupa rising from the middle of the temple throngs of people mill about. Some wander and photograph as tourists, others perambulate the golden stupa with lotus blossoms in hand, and still others bow in pray lighting incense. Each prays for something good in their life. For a new opportunity or job, financial security, a sick relative, an upcoming baby, many things. All sorts of things, but most I imagine pray simply for happiness.

And so joining the faithful I lit my own candles, burned the incense, and laid down my lotus flower to bow my head for that one simple wish...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.