TucsonJim

By BikerJim

~Eventide Chroma~

~A Colorful Sunset Saga~

I raced up the road as the sun was sinking behind the Tortolitas.
The intense colors were beginning to fade to dark purples and blacks.
Wheeling the truck to the right it accelerated up the steep incline.
I was in competing with the setting sun, would I be victorious?
My Ford F-150 was handling the twisting road well, we were flying.
I'm almost to the top of Sunset Ridge, will I arrive in time?
There is my turnout, my overlook, I crank the wheel hard left.
Almost cutting off a semi going in the opposite direction.
The trucker honks "Hello" and I wave back "Hello yourself"!
My maneuvered u-turn was a success as I slid into the turnout.
As the dust settled, I saw the last fading chroma of the day.
I yanked the lens cap off the Canon and clicked once, just once!
The western horizon was turning an ashen pallor, then a gray-black.
Did I get the photograph that I worked so hard at collecting.
You can be the judge, but I think it was worth all the hard work.

Thanks for joining me on TucsonJim's wild ride!

Oh yes, next time I decide to take a late afternoon nap,
I think I better set the alarm to wake me up!
;o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.