Quiet Blipper

By Islandcat

Another way of looking at a Curly Willow

We have these two curly willow trees that we started as cuttings from a tree my parents had in Ontario. We brought them home in wet newspaper, watched as the cuttings created roots and then planted the delicate shoots. We now have 2 trees, one about 12 feet high and the other only about 6 feet. It lost its top this winter in a snow storm.

The branches are a mass of amazing curls and twirls. They offered up numerous images for me this afternoon...Lacy, magical, filaments that look almost like spiders webs when in the "real world" they are willow trees, waiting for a few warm days to bud. I love the ethereal quality they offered up as I lost myself in a pattern language of light and shape.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.