Annie's In Oregon

By anniescottage

Stranded?

This was a day of glorious reflections and the blips that got away until...

a walk in the Charleston Boat Basin, and the persistent sound of Sea Lions barking. I asked if we could go find them. We wandered to places I'd never been and under docks I'd never been under. Then we saw them. Several swimming around, which are cute, but we realized they were barking at the people who were too close to the ones that appeared stranded on a dock 6 feet above the water and 6 feet below the dock above it. Apparently, they climbed up at high tide and stuck around a bit too long. The fisherman who came along, an old friend, assured us they could jump, but they made no attempt to. There was no way to frame this better, as there was a cross beam in the way. Here I am, eye and camera lens between boards on the dock, hind end in the air and hoping no one would think it funny to boot me over the edge of the dock and into the water myself.

My Sheepish Contraptioneer's version of the excursion made be blush and say "awe shucks" and kick the ground a little. Fortunate for me there was nothing about my hiney in the air in his write up....but trust me I was reading extra fast to see if there was!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.