Diamonds and Rust

By diamondsandrust

Tywydd Garw

The day started with a phone call from my daughter-in-law to say she was heading to hospital for the birth of their second child, our second grandchild. It's a few days overdue so we've been on tenterhooks. I thought I'd go and buy a newspaper to mark the day, and headed for the Prom Shop. The weather was rough, with waves crashing over the Prom, really exciting.

I bought my paper, but as I was untangling my dogs that I'd tied up outside, i dropped it and it blew away in the wind. I went after the several parts, and as I picked uo the last section, lying in the gutter, it was open at an obituary page - Neil Young! Neil Young the guitarist and songwriter is one of my all time musical heroes, and it was a real shock. I bundled the paper under my arm and headed home, past the crashing waves. When I got home I quickly spread the Obituary page out on the floor (too wet for the table) and read about - Neil Young, a footballer! Well, I'm sorry for Neil Young of Manchester City, but I'm really glad it wasn't Neil Young of Crazy Horse.

Now I'm just thinking about the forthcoming baby.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.