Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

"So Far to Sail"

THIS PAPER BOAT

Carefully placed upon the future,
it tips from the breeze and skims away,
frail thing of words, this valentine,
so far to sail. And if you find it
caught in the reeds, its message blurred,
the thought that you are holding it
a moment is enough for me.

by Ted Kooser
from ~~ VALENTINES: Poems


Somehow, I feel like I have just discovered this poem of Kooser's this season, and honestly I've read, adored, and blipped this book the past two Valentine's seasons.

As the evening sky was unveiled, this poem and sunset's watercolor across the sky seemed to align.

This poem is brand new to me. That can't be. My favorite line . . . "the thought that you are holding it a moment is enough for me" causes me to hold my breath for a long moment. Imagining someone receiving something I have sent, always causes me to pause.

I should apologize that this is the third season here on Blip that I have been too fond of Kooser's poetry book, but it does cause me to stop for a long moment and contemplate the delight it would have been to have been one of the recipients of his mailed poems -- wow! This is explained here.

On the back inside jacket of his book is his photo. If I were ever going to fall in love with someone that looked like a little old man, I think Kooser would be the one. If that is not okay, please ignore that statement.

If I were ever going to fall in love with a U.S. President, it would be (shoot, I'll have to think about that), if I were going to fall in love with a musician -- gosh, I could not fall in love with just one--several have been quite amazing, like McCartney, James Taylor, Van Morrison, Paul Noel Stuckey and on and on; if I were going to fall in love with a preacher, it would Chuck Swindoll or Chuck Smith; if I were going to fall in love with an author, it would be Scott Russell Sanders. And now, I've told you too much.

That's okay, it's my page, and tomorrow I can change my mind, change my opinion, and change my costume! But one thing's for sure, tomorrow I am going to include another of Kooser's Valentine poems. I hope someone in Blip-land will purchase his book. It truly is worth owning.

Good night from "Fun-ville" in Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun, and Chloe), aka Carol

P.S. Yesterday's poem about "an old beer bottle" is tremendous.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.