Soak it in

By BrittaBurger

Dad's Palette

Today we walked around the halls of the hospital with my father-in-law Steve and I noticed the small details in this gorgeous picture hanging on the final turn of our walk. Steve is miraculously recovering from surgery, walking the halls effortlessly only two days after surgery. Though harder news came this morning, he remains completely dependent on our faithful God and celebrates the good news even when it was mixed with bad news.

We rounded the corner and there were the colorful photos cheering us as we walked. A closer look made the colors more significant, the texture seep into my soul, the frame capture all my hopes and fears. The name of the photo, "Dad's Palette." There, in the midst of greens and yellows and pinks and blacks represented all I wanted for my father-in-law and all that I wanted for my whole family. His palette is always colorful, and today the colors seem a bit more muted, but they still shine out of him so clearly that even the nurses cant keep away! I easily forget that God creates our palette to be perfectly for him. Steve's palette is so perfectly made for him and perfectly reflects God in him. We trust today that God is bringing out new colors in Steve's palette, making the picture in his life frame bright and beautiful and pleasing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.