Soak it in

By BrittaBurger

The simple smarts of ducks

Paul and I are at Panera enjoying the warmth of soup and a fire place, making me all together peaceful. We decided we needed a fun and different place to study for the evening, and it seems that some others thought it was a good idea too! Greeting us at the door to Panera were a dozen....ducks, not bagels!!! They were basking in the warmth of the lights and kind customers would exit with bread crumbs for them. They are simply smart, those ducks!! They know where to go in this bitter cold to find food and warmth.

I see a lot of myself in these ducks. This last week has been a colder week emotionally and spiritually. I'm off track in my normal life, and often times that's when I see God work in me the most. I'm like those ducks. When my life gets cold and the warmth of God seems to have left with the first wind, he calls me back to the radiant light. He sustains my hungry soul and gives me a place to rest. He provides beyond what I need even in the cold of this life season.

These ducks have it right. I'm thankful for a warm and gracious God who always provides!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.