1day>1week>1month>1year

By cowgirl

Surrealism and Beyond

Today I spent an hour sitting on the train that arrived on time to the station, then once we were all on was unable to proceed due to over running engineering works. After a while I decided coffee was called for so went to the " Express Cafe " for a cappuccino, but was told the machine wasn't working so I could have a Fair Trade instant instead.

Once we got going I spent most of the journey trying to get in touch with my Brazilian friend, Bea, who I haven't seen for 6 years, waiting for me at Paddington Station, without success.

Finally arrived and hour and 6 mins late, then had to negotiate a meeting point with a 3rd friend, Tilly, whom neither of us had seen for 15 years and who had a limited window of opportunity to see us in.

We decided Camden was a good half way point - but then found the most direct route, on the Hammersmith and City line, was a no go. Plan B was called into play and we arrived just as Camden station was being closed!

After that the rest of the day went according to plan ( altho, there was no plan after that ). Had a lovely day reminiscing with old vols ( kibbutz volunteers ), swapping news of other old vols and generally catching up on each other lives ( Tilly has triplets, Bea wants to adopt - I think the two of them could have come to some sort of an arrangement! ).

After Tilly left, Bea wanted to see the London Eye and visit the Tate Modern, which we did. At the Tate, she chose to see Poetry and Dream, surrealism and beyond. Modern art's not my favourite and the idea that there's something beyond surrealism didn't appeal to me, but we went in anyway. A quick rost round and we were out again. Can't even think of anything to say about it ...

The only stuff I really " got " was in the gift shop, which is where today's Blip is from.

After all that excitement there was just time for a curry before heading home. Here's to the next 6 - 15 years girls!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.