Changing of the Guard

[backblip]

I made a timely arrival at DDHQ last night, to celebrate Ninny Salad's (won't bother putting a link, she hasn't blipped since Ascot last year) Masters results that she has spent the last two years sweating over. The clever old (less of the old, I know) stick managed to get herself a distinction, which, I concluded was down to the very careful and objective proof-reading that I played a part in. Anyway - it was good start to my holiday and after a non-takeaway takeaway and wine and a good old natter, I retired to my old bed in my old room, for the last time.

We were up early and by 9.30 we were breakfasting in the Old Station in Windsor. That set us up nicely for a mad couple of hours' dash around the shops before an afternoon of rugby and general chit-chat with the rest of the gang, in Richmond. A 2.30 kick off for drinking required a bit of pacing and with the assistance of a jumbo pack of peanuts and crisps from M&S, cunningly hidden in one of our handbags, and the odd shandy to break up the full-on lager consumption, we managed to last until 11pm. Admittedly this did include an hour or so in Wagamamas (my fave) but we then managed a bottle of fizz and another cocktail before catching the last-but-one train home.

A lovely, lovely day with the girlies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.