Annie's In Oregon

By anniescottage

Sometimes Change is Good

Unless you like your baby the way it is and you don't want to change it.

Phase one of the move to a new cubicle 99% complete. Everything is out except one little stack of trays which are waiting for a little modification on the new cube tomorrow before I finish. It felt strange to walk away from my empty home today and realize that tomorrow I go to work and I will probably pass right by my desk on my way to my old one and forget to stop. Habits.

At the very end of my work day, I pulled off some quotes and sayings that I had taped around. The final one said, "The refiner is never very far from the mouth of the furnace when His gold is in the fire. ~~Charles H. Spurgeon" Reading this, mid move, calmed my spirit and helped me settle into a place of trust in my heart and begin to look forward to setting things up all new. It's OK, being refined. The process yields something far greater than the original raw material seemed to have to offer.

The very last thing I did before walking out the door was pick up a small card that was given to me by a co-worker years ago. I turned it over and read, "For I know the thoughts I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope. Jeremiah 29:11"

That settled it. I walked out of the office feeling like I was in my new home and that God had a greater plan for me than I, myself could imagine. I have a feeling it will be a good day tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.