FireWest

By FireWest

The sun shines

We drove fire trucks, sprayed water, and got dirty learning the ins and outs of fire apparatus today. It was stupendous! We were outside most of the day in turnouts, circulating through four different activity stations: driving a pylon course, backing into simulated garages, running the pump engine, and operating the nozzle.

It was the first time I'd ever handled fire hose, and when they increased the hose pressure, it went rigid and starting moving backwards in my grip. I thought my partner was pulling the hose backwards on me! That's nothing, though... It was only a very small nozzle. Wait until we break out the big ones - I'll go flying!

It was chilly today, -20ish while we were out. Probably should have been practicing at a ski hill, they could have used the snow making.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.