Who knew?

By InOtherNews

Gettin' Shirty

Very self indulgent blip today after what can only be described as a disaster. The main story of today people will probably find mildly amusing, but before I get to that please allow me the self indulgence that will make me feel so much better.

Here is a selection of my Lincoln City shirt collection. I've never really gone out to collect them, just being a fan they've accumalated over 20 odd years. I've laid my favourites out and want to just show you a couple of them. There are about twenty here and another 15 or so in the cupboard.

On either flank are two scarves, one each from our play off final appearances in 2003 and 2005. Just next to them are my two toffs replica shirts, on the left from our 1947 promotion winning team, and across on the right our 1976 Division Four championship shirt.

There's a prominent one in the middle which simply reads 'Poacher 10'. The club gave me this third team kit with that on the back to celebrate ten years in the job. I've now done almost 13.

The green one next to that is the 125 year anniversary shirt. My ex actually bought me that for Valentines Day and had my name printed on the front as a surprise. Fans could pay £40 to get their name on every shirt -theres about two hundred under the numerous sponsors. However behind her back I'd already got one (she'd told me I couldn't afford one and I took exception to that) so I hastily arranged to have my Dads name on instead of mine twice.

The other one of significance is the one on the right of the Poacher shirt. It is the oldest genuine shirt in the lot from the 1990/91 season. Laying it out brought so many memories of opening it up as a kid.

My very first shirt is'nt here from 1987. It's on a teddy and boxed away somewhere after becoming rather fragile. When we bought it my Mum and Dad saved for weeks to afford the £20, and they took me out of school for a day to buy it! Happy days.


Thanks for that.

Today you may recall I was due at a funeral. Apparently I wasn't. Turns out it's next Friday and I've misread the Facebook group date. Gutted. I didn't quite get there, I checked the venue over breakfast and discovered my error. I'm fairly sure that makes me a bona fida idiot.

I'm done with the football blips now, pretty sure I will do some sort of series next week to regain some focus. The quality of shot is slipping and I need to get it sorted. Where have the miserable black and white buildings of pre Xmas gone? I've become to focused on taking a picture OF something, rather than just including something in an OVERALL visual treat. Does that make sense? I hoped the use of caps would get my point across.

What I mean is I see something specific and take a shot of it, whereas before I was thinking of a style of shot I wanted to take and then developing it from there. I do believe that is the most pretentious I have ever sounded.

This weekend is a quiet one, maybe a walk and some Sunday lunch wi' mi' Ma, and Saturday spent listening to City take on Barnet. I might drink some beer and indulge in internet based conversations with people I barely know. I will probably omit to include any basic household chores on my agenda, therefore waking up on Monday morning devoid of clean clothes and bowls to eat from.

Man with no arms and no legs on a bench at a bus stop. Bus pulls up and the driver opens the door:

"Alright John, How you getting on"

I'm here all week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.