True Colours

By HunterGatherer

These Streets

A lot of my friends know by now that I am a big fan of the United States of America. After spending two fantastic summers at a summer camp for boys and girls in the Berkshires of Massachusetts, as well as countless summer and easter and October holidays in various states: I think it's safe to say that I love the USA. It is in one of my [many] life plans to move to America at some point in my life. The cities there are so different to Edinburgh, with their rigid simple grid system. Even I fail to get lost in New York City or San Francisco, all you need is a street and an avenue or a simple map and you're there. Simples.

But there is something special about the streets of Edinburgh that the marvel of the grid system lacks: curves. From the smooth undulating line of Eyre Crescent to the beautiful swoop of Victoria Street, the parabola of Candlemaker Row to the perfect semi-circle of Marchmont crescent. Sure, it's not the quickest way to get places, but when the street looks as pretty as this, catching the last of the sun's rays...who cares.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.