Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Memory Lane

Tonight I am going down memory lane listening to one of my favorite artists, "Kawika Regidor". Listening while blipping. Kawika released an album in 2002, the same year that my husband and I honeymooned in Kauai. We picked up his CD at the local store, knowing nothing about the artist and immediately fell in love with every single song. Listening to his music this evening takes me back to the little sporty convertible that we rented for the week. The wind blowing in our faces. Holding hands. Our hearts full of promise. Love in the air.

See, we actually felt that Kawika was singing every single song to us back in 2002. It was like we were the only ones on the island. There wasn't one part of Kauai that we didn't explore. We blazed our own trails. 'Accidentally' forgetting to read the DO NOT ENTER sign and hiking down to a gorgeous waterfall. That is probably one of the most incredible things that we have ever experienced together. Swimming in a natural pool of water while listening to the thunder of the waterfall churning the water just 20 feet away. The spray creating almost a mist in the air. Magical.

The other day, 'The Islands', came on my ipod while we were at the gym. And the song took me right back to Hawaii. Right back to our honeymoon. One of the best weeks of our lives. The open air helicopter ride that flew us over lush valleys and canyons. The boat ride along the coast. The hundreds of turtles that fed in the waters just below the balcony of our condo. And the convertible. Amazing how music can bring back so many memories.

As soon as the song came on at the gym, I smiled. I motioned for my husband to come over and I put my ear bud into his ear. He listened for two seconds and then grinned and said, "Kawika". OUR Kawika. The music that he must have written just for us. Even as I am typing this right now, I have semi tears in my eyes thinking back to the week that followed our wedding. Hawaii. Our special place. Forever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.