rachelsmom

By dorrit

Oh Baby! "Re-memory" # 2

My husband, "OrygonHomeBoy" has loved and kept pigeons as long as I have known him (49 years) and certainly, as long as I have been married to him (47 years - no, really?) When we were a fairly young married couple (It's all relative - right?) he gave some pigeons to our nephew (who is now in his (fairly) early 40's. This started a lifelong love of these birds, apparently. Just a few weeks ago this resulted in much correspondence and a resulting shipment of "Belgium Tumblers" from our nephew in Arizona to my husband here in Oregon! These birds are now housed in a very nice bird house sitting, at the moment, in the middle of our cabinet shop due to the drastic change in weather conditions - at least that is my husband's excuse! Tumblers and rollers are pigeons that do somersaults in the sky, twirling in free fall and doing amazing stunts just to show off and have fun - or it seems like that is the reason! Anyway....our nephew sent my husband these and they arrived on his birthday (Feb 9th) It is now 3/22 and this mom has two chicks and two other moms are sitting on one egg each. me thinks they have not just been tumbling in the sky!

All of our girls and nieces, nephews, and grandchildren have viewed my husbands birds, diving, swooping and tumbling. My grand daughter, as well as our nephew raised them for awhile. Who knows how many others in the family will take up an interest?

I happen to like free flying birds and I feed them (healthy food) and they swoop down to visit me any time I go outside. They leave sentries to watch so that as soon as I toss food they come from far away and within seconds there are so many I run out of food!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.