Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Normal Day

"Normal Day" . . . but it did not make a normal exit. No! It left spectacularly. I had already downloaded my camera and wasn't overly impressed with today's choices when I headed toward the front room and could see the sky through the front windows. Back to my computer to retrieve my camera card and try for a capture and there it is.

It was a normal day because . . . late in the afternoon when I checked in at Kaiser Medical Center for a hearing check (was told ten years ago to come back in a year--I didn't want to rush it) my blood pressure was normal -- 120/80, my temperature was normal -- 98.6, my pulse was normal -- 90, height and weight -- normal.

Next stop was the examination room and a face-to-face with the doctor. He checked my ears, throat, nose, and neck. He told me that my hearing loss was so minimal that hearing aids are not a necessity. I did tell him about the "white noise" or ringing in my ears that I hear occasionally. It's called tinnitus. He explained that it is caused in the brain, not the ear, and that some folks are having success with decreasing the noise by taking Ginkgo Biloba and Oto Vite Plus (lipoflavonoids). His exit comment was, "Come see me again in a year."


The early part of the day was spent sending emails to numerous students who are "faking" and not doing their online work that is a requirement of the classes I teach. I emailed one student who has not checked into the online portion of the course for 38 days. I explained that he needed to drop the class (I mean come on, he's been absent in the online class for the past 5 weeks). He replied with this smart alec comment, "So I'm getting dropped because I haven't logged into blackboard." You can only guess what I wanted to say in response. I didn't! Thankfully I had the wherewithal not to respond. Nothing about working with students today was normal! I think I'll go look at the sky.

Good night from a very warm Southern California (high of 82 degrees today).
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.