Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Women's History Month

Giant-sized posters of famous, prominent, and power women from history and from current times are decorating the walls of the corridors at the campus where I teach. Here in America it is the 30th Anniversary of National Women's History Month.

As I pass by each one of these posters, I want to pause, and I do when I am not hurrying to a class or a meeting, but my next response is the desire to read more about the person whose portrait is on display. The posters are displaying remarkable humans.

As I look at the women displayed in my blip today, and these are just a few of the dozens on display at the campus, I wonder about the women who have been poignant and significant players in my life. I wonder about lining the walls of my life with their posters and celebrating them this month. I don't want the women whose lives have influenced mine to become invisible in my thoughts and memory.

I could start my list of poignant women here, but I'm not sure I'm ready. If I take this as a serious assignment, I want to do it well. I need to think awhile.

I wonder, what women would be prominent on the walls of your life?

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.