Strange World

By strangeworld

Magnolia

The Magnolia trees have bloomed!

While researching fine art flower images I learned that the tree in my front lawn is a Magnolia tree. I had no idea what it was! This tree flowers for only about a week before the leaves come in. It was one of my first subjects when I got into photography. When I look back at those images I think...wow...they were really bad. haha! But at the time I loved them and am glad they gave me some inspiration.

The tips of the petals are covered in brown spots from the freeze we had last week. And today the flowers really started to open so I had to hurry. The wicked storms rolling in this evening will destroy them by morning. Its really too bad the blooms dont last longer. Down in the southern U.S. these flowers grow as large as a dessert plate. Amazingly beautiful!

Oh btw...I changed my profile pic. Its now a picture of me instead of some other woman. haha!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.