Strange World

By strangeworld

Tulip

Today was so beautifully sunny!
Its been raining and grey all week and I havent been outside with the camera.

The tulips are blooming in the back garden. Its early so they havent opened fully, but the colors are brilliant. My landscapers "accidentally" cut down my daffodils last weekend. They were cleaning the yard before the holiday and just wacked them down. I guess I wont rush them again.

Anyway, I prefer to shoot flowers in natural sunlight because they just look better...and I really dont have any lighting equipment. I tried playing with the shadows a little bit. Its not easy to get the right angle without casting my own shadow on my subjects. I didnt particularly like any of my shots but my hubby said this was the best one. I'll take his word!

This weekend I'm going on a little trip to the Mississippi River. We have floods happening along the river for hundreds of miles. Down south they are talking about blowing one of the levees to prevent a town from flooding. In doing so they will flood the farmland on the other side. No one is happy about it.

I'm hoping to do some journalistic photography about the flood...kind of a man vs nature series. I've never done anything like this. I dont know what I will find when I get there so I'm bringing some supplies to help with the relief.

Have a great weekend!










Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.