must try harder

By halfcj

"I don't believe it!"

...he screams....in a Victor Meldrew imitation!

UK Blippers will be aware that today (or yesterday as I write this blip) at 23.59pm, the axe came down on applications for tickets to the Olympics 2012. Not quite sure why it wasn't 00.00pm/am, but that's what the website said.

It has taken us for ever to decide what to apply for. We just want to see something. To be involved. To be able to say (in our best Max Boyce accent)..."And I know. Cos I was there!".

"Hmmm. Not going to be cheap darling!"
I says.
Anything will do. Just to savour the atmosphere!
So, we've gone for the cheap seats, some swimming and some table tennis. Yep, you've got it, we're off to the Olympics to watch some ping pong! (if we get allocated the tickets that is! - there'll be a ballot! - even though they'll take our money next month.)

We looked at the opening ceremony. That's when my Victor Meldrew came out to play. Up to £2000 per seat. There's 6 of us. I think we'll be watching it on the tele...and buy a new car! Reckon there's some money to be made.

Also today, what I couldn't believe, is my Dandelion seed blip of a couple weeks ago I expected to be the last of the spring. But no! Some more arrived in the same spot, from the same flower.....or weed technically! I could see with the naked eye that there was water on the seeds, so dashed to finish what I started weeks ago.

When I got down to it, I couldn't believe my luck. Just as there was a passenger last time, so this time there was not one, but two bubbles hitching a ride. They stayed long enough for me to dash off a number of shots...and if you look very careful in large, you'll see the reflection of the house and me in both bubbles. Ok, it's not very very clear, but you can make me/it out. It was quite good fun picking up from the last dandelion shot as there is obviously still water/dew on this version, so it gave me something better to focus on with the water bubbles. This is also SOOC, so I was quite pleased with the overall colours as I used a silver reflector to bounce some light around.

That's got me thinking....silver....need to stock up on some to pay for my Olympics tickets! Back down to earth. Feel like Victor Meldrew again!

P.S. - BTW...this was a tiny seed head, smaller than a penny in diameter, which you can probably tell from the number of seeds it's carrying. Not sure why it's small. Not well up on the dandelion world!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.