must try harder

By halfcj

Last One.

Whilst everyone else was lording it following the Wedding, I decided it might just become a bit overwhelming and imposing for us Brits to be blocking the blipwaves with royal waves.

No, I decided that having started out on this dandelion adventure, that I had best finish it off. Problem is, as I eluded to yesterday, my now infamous dandelion is no more. Just a shadow of it's former self. A skeleton if you like. So the one shot I did not do, before it was too late, was the ceremonious blowing of the seeds.

I asked Gussy to do the honours as there was only one chance to capture the last one seed left on the flower head...and he duly obliged. No chance for practice runs. No recovering the seed in case I missed it. No sticking is back on if I did. No rehearsal. One shot. The only one to evade the forces of nature, only to be sent on it's way by the intervention of a human being.

I know what you're thinking:

"Wow, that's fantastic!...just managed to capture it as it left the head! - Well done indeed!"

The more astute amongst you would realise that sometimes, the camera does lie!
Yes, this is the flower head that had been obscured by seeds in the last three of by blips.
No, this is not the last seed that had been sitting waiting for a greater force of nature than the rest of his brethren had succumbed to only yesterday. I'm afraid this particular seed is one made by man!.

Yes, me. I'm afraid I added it post production. OK, I'm not proud of it, and hopefully those of you fooled before reading through my entry will not hold it against me for eternity, but I wanted to give you drama! I wanted a symbolic image to mark the parting of this weed from this mortal coil. Symbolic in that, away flies the seed of my poor dead dandelion to start a new life of it's own. Where it's resting place will be, no-one can tell. Will I see it blossom in weeks or months to come? Who knows. What we do know is that it represents that last one to leave. The most loyal, the strongest or simply the furthest from the source of wind. We'll never know which, but when it returns, it will give birth to many more like itself. A really rather amazing seed, considering it's a weed!

So, my apologies for trying to fool you, perhaps the last one out of my blip would turn the lights off please.

PS - Obvioulsy best large to see my handy work!

PPS - I forgot to give credit to Max's Daily Exposure for the inspiration for this shot. His effort is of course, far more technically competent! and creatively, his integrity is in tact!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.