What A Difference A Day Makes ...

24 Little Hours.

I was high as a kite yesterday, today the wind's gone right out of my sails. The weather was slow to arrive which put me on the back foot straight away. I'd go so far as to say I'm uncharacteristically moody today. I even felt a little sad that Osama Bin Laden's dead, that can't be right, surely?

Up early as the gasman cometh so I had to clear out the cupboard under the stairs where the boiler lives (a - what do you mean I dont have any stairs and b - who you calling a boiler - see you can't win with me today). I've been overwhelmed by the amount of shit I have. The cupboard could stock Boots and it never seems to go down. I went around the other rooms and that just made me feel even worse. I want to live a stripped down, uncluttered life, not swamped by crap. Help!! The tally includes but definitely is not limited to:

10 dog bowls plus leads, shampoo, brushes and toys for a dog I don't even have.
8 vases of various sizes and styles - and no effin flowers
44 candle/tealight holders/ storm lanterns (uh oh found another box and put the lid back on quick.
54 books by the bed that I am never gonna read
20 teatowels - all ironed
4 aprons - I never wear an apron, who am I, Les Dawson? No.
9 mixing bowls for cake etc, not even going to look at the tins (all labelled in inches and cms by the way)
10 bottles of body lotion - which I never use, probably why I have the skin of a rhino
Litres of sun lotion, and enough fake tan to kill a WAG, which I also never use as I'm scared of it.
100 latex gloves - see above.

Let's not even look in the wardrobes (got a couple of spares there too) at the coats (12) etc.

I sought solace in the sunshine (had to get my neighbour to put cream on my back, that pissed me off too) and the garden. Both brown and green bins full so can't do any more weeding, why that annoyed me I can't fathom. Carried a big plant pot which was full of ants which ran all up my arms and into my clothes and then tipped a whole bag of compost over myself.

Anyway, went running, not getting easier yet but I did it and felt better for it, must be those dolphins I hear talk of.

Give You Up, Raphael Saadiq
Saturday Night Sunday Morning, Thelma Houston
This is What You Are, Mario Biondi - my absolute favourite right now
Here I Come, Barrington Levy
Sunday Shining, Finlay Quaye
Dance For Me, Mary J Blige





What A Difference A Day Makes, Esther Phillips, 1975

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.