must try harder

By halfcj

Happy Birthday Sam.

Strange how, unless you're the queen, we all have one birthday to remember. I don't mean other peoples of course, but your own.

Only strange to me as I have often thought that it is one of life's ironies that in death, we have two days to remember. The day your loved one died and their birthday. So in death, we have double the pain in days we remember to days in life, for the joy of remembering. Sorry, I will get to the point now of why I have always felt it strange....

...I recall as a child someone saying how lucky it was that an old aunt had managed to see out their birthday, and die on a different day. "Nobody wants to die on their birthday." To hear that as a child was a sentence that somehow stuck with me and I'm pretty sure I have used it in a similar context.

However, these last 8 years, when today comes round, I find myself thinking that when I pass, I'd quite like to go on my birthday. That way, those that I leave will only have one day in their year to feel the pain and the guilt of things that can never be.

Still missing her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.