Fisherking

By Fisherking

...Well surprise, surprise, surprise....

A surprise visit at work today, completely out of the blue.

Blip world this is my friend Big Sergei....I last saw him in February 2009....In Omsk, Siberia!

He's over here for a visit with the British Council and dropped in on us this morning, some of the staff knew he was coming but I'd been inadvertantly left out of the loop. Imagine my surprise. He could only stay for a few hours, but we managed a chat in between my lessons.

In his deep Russian accent he said to me
"Give regards to all your family"
"You are now Grand father?"
" If we come, November, I come to see baby?"
" You are still to take me fishing , remember?"

Sergei is the Principal of the Omsk State College of Professional Technologies, (they have a web site at www.omgkpt.ru if you fancy a look) and as such is quite a "big man" in the city of Omsk. I'll tell you a little tale from my visit.

On my penultimate night in Siberia, Sergei arranged for me and the two male PE staff to have a personal visit/tour of the magnificent Omsk Ice Hockey Stadium as a belated birthday present (a few days before I had turned 51). The entire stadium was opened up for the three of us, at 11.00pm, and we got the full tour ice rink, dressing rooms etc etc. After the tour we met back in our hotel bar and some vodka was consumed.He then put his arm round me and offered me another gift , the next time I visit Siberia, a day's hunting elk with him and a high powered rifle!

Das vidanya moy padruga.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.