Slice of my Life

By spcooke

Ponderosa Pine cones (pink to boot!!)

How is this for amazing? I have lived in Bend for 38 years and have never noticed this wonderful, spring happening--the pink pine cones beginning on the ponderosa pines! Blipping has really opened my eyes! I have looked at all the different evergreen trees in Bend and have decided that the ponderosa has the classiest cones!

When I went to the park this afternoon with the grandkids and took these pictures, I must also admit that I was dismayed at all the pollen coming from the pine trees as well. Yellow pollen was everywhere! The trees just "poof" and yellow mist fills the air! This creates itching eyes, scratchy throat, coughing and just general miserableness. It is late this year, since the rain and cold slowed the progress of the trees. But it is in full force now!

The pink pine cones do help offset the above!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.