Diver Driver

By diverdriver

There was a wee cooper......

..........wha' lived in Fife,
Nickety nackety, noo, noo, noo
And he hae gotten a gentle wife,
Hey Willie Wallacky, Ho, John Dougal,
Alane quo' rushety roo, roo, roo.

Saw this place name from the train, on my way home this afternoon, and was immediately reminded of this old song we used to sing at school all those years ago.

I know the Cooper in the song and the Cupar in my Blip are two different things, but at least the common denominator was that we were all in Fife.

And the Cooper in the song would have been a cooper in real life, supplying the many distilleries in the area with barrels for their whisky.

Sadly these days there are but a handful of distilleries left and it is up to us to do all we can to keep them going. So, once unpacked and settled in for the evening with Mrs DD, I am going to do my bit!

Here's tae Bonnie Scotland!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.