Who knew?

By InOtherNews

Things I Like

I was urged yesterday to try and list a few things I like. So I decided to do just that. Here for a start are my favourite trainers. They are mucky, a bit shabby and over three years old now. I bought them in Bari back in 2008 whilst taking the devil girl away to Italy for a weekend. It was the only thing I bought for myself that trip.They have red stripes on them and are white. Like Lincoln City. How sad is that? I often think they were intended to be on the feet of a suave and handsome Italian man with a gorgeous olive skinned girlfriend with whom he enjoys a range of exquisite continental cusine. I chuckle when I see them on my feet as I down another lager, smoke another cheap cigarette and watch as my crap football team loses another game in a cold and damp half empty stadium.

Okay. Things I like:

Carter The Unstoppable Sex Machines album 1992 - The Love Album. Quality from start to finish. I think this is my favourite song off the album. When I'm angry or upset I stick this on and shout. I like it.

Tea. I like drinking tea. It's a little known fact my family brought tea to the UK back in umm.... 1756. They were of Danish descent and were shipwrecked on the Goodwin Sands before being washed ashore. They took the family name Goodwin and brought with them a range of teas (not that Earl Grey muck though that tastes like perfume). My great Granpapa Piotr Goodwin actually invented PG Tips.

Some of that is a lie. Okay most of it. The Goodwin Sands thing is true though. Apparently I have a Danish jaw. If the police had looked close enough they'd have found a few ribs and a foot as well

Being cynical. I love being cynical. I think it gives me protection from the shitstorm that brews every day around me. They say a pessimist is never disappointed (Sophie Ellis Bextor did back in the 90's with her little known indie band The Audience). Well I'm sure a cynic is never impressed. It takes a lot to impress me - genuine accomplishments and feats impress me. Bruce Parry the explorer impresses me.

I like surprising people. I like people to think they know me inside and out, I like people to think they have me labelled and boxed up and then I spring a surprise. I like to think I'm an enigma but in truth I'm not. I just change my mind a lot and pretend thats how I've always felt.

I like being proven right. Happens all the time. Then again why wouldn't it, I surround myself with intellectually inferior people. If I had people such as your good selves around me instead of being an arrogant know it all I might actually get to learn a few things.

I like smoking, and not this crap stuff I can buy at the shops either. I don't, because it'd upset my family and apparently it brings on depression, cancer, paranoia and probably the war in Afghanistan as well. However nothing can beat that first drag after a hard day as gods herb creeps through your veins and kicks the ass of stress, strain and worry.

I like comedy, especially the likes of Jack Dee and Lee Mack.

I like football. There's a shock.

I also like: punk, chips, steak, socks without holes, my sofa, my family, my TV, having hair, computer, lazy days, Cornwall, spending money, cuddles (aaaw), being alone in the office, getting text messages and getting FB messages.

More tomorrow.

There are a stack of things I like that I won't bang on about because I don't have them and that'd defeat the object.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.