Helter-skelter

By Juli

Bee orchid.

Been trying to get a decent shot of these for three days - still not completely happy with this but at least, hopefully, you can see why I was so fascinated when I spotted them!

I don't think I've ever seen one in real life before. The sign placed by them (no doubt by someone equally surprised to see them!) has the following information:


"The bee orchid (Ophrys apifera) is an uncommon British native. It is usually found on chalk or limestone hills so its appearance at Wakehurst Place, in a woodland situation on acidic clay soil, is all the more extraordinary.

Like most species of Ophrys, the bee orchid mimics the appearance and scent of certain bees. Male bees try to mate with the flowers and in the process collect the pollen, which they transfer to another plant. However, it is believed these bees do not occur in Britain and plants in this country set seed without a pollinating insect."



I do remember when I first heard about them years ago, though - and admit I had a bit of a giggle at the thought of all those poor bees having their hopes dashed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.