Traintracks

He still loves his traintracks. He decided that today he was going to build a traintrack. And the only way to find the exact pieces he wanted was to take out and throw on the floor EVERY piece of track out of the box.

And then decided to build a straight line track which went under the sofa... with bridges...

Who knows what goes on in the mind of a two year old.

For the record, Ben is 2 years, 8 months and 19 days old....

He ate dinner with us tonight. That was nice! He was actually happy to come and sit down at the table with us, and tuck into corned beef hash. He's previously refused that stuff, quite probably on principal as it does just look like mush... but he declared it "tasty!" which I class as a result :D


Rest of the day has been slow. We didn't make it out to tots this morning as Ben and I only got out of bed at 10 to 10, and tots starts at 10am. The reason for this was me having another hypo in the night and this time Ben wasn't asleep at the time so he then woke up and I had to get Steve to wake up to find me some lucozade because I seriously wasn't expecting that hypo (having been quite high blood sugar before bed) and hadn't brought any upstairs with me. So Ben was screaming and crying and wanting mummy and Steve was grumpy and I was crying and it was all very stressful. I think in future I'll keep the lucozade by the bed (and some glucagel just in case as well) and sort myself out while trying not to wake anybody else up, and send Steve a text to say what's happened and to make sure I'm alright before he goes out to work! The diabetes nurses aren't going to like that idea I'm sure.

I hope these night time hypos don't decide to become a regular thing.

So we stumbled through the morning, stumbled through lunch (I did my homework and calculated what carbs were in front of me and had the appropriate amount of insulin and was utterly frightened at the amount of insulin I was taking. I've never had that much rapid insulin at once before so I was a little nervous.) and decided to go into town to buy a new pair of kitchen scales, slightly more accurate ones than my current set. They're a bit whit-woo I have to say. And they work but my goodness you can see my lack of enthusiasm for weighing out all my carbohydrate-filled food as I use them!! Hehe. C'est la vie. Got to get used to it I suppose.

Blood sugar seemed to take an awful long time to come back down to an acceptable pre-meal level this time. Snacking on houmous and peppers and celery and boiled egg and salad cream and ham (we got through an entire packet of wafer thin honey roast ham today between us, Ben and I) did not really cut it for me today. I need to find other non-carb snacks. I'm getting desperate. ALL my snacks previously were carbohydrate. Not sure how much ham I can physically eat. Maybe I do need to get some tinned mackerel or sardines or something - but then I'd eat them on toast which defeats the point!! Aargh.


Ben decided to got to sleep finally at 5pm. But woke up about 5 minutes after I'd left him in his bed, complaining that mummy had gone. So he slept until 7pm cradled in my arms on the sofa. While I was supposed to be making dinner. And while Steve was outside fixing his bike.

So dinner was 9pm... and now they are in the bath, Ben giving his new diver toy thing an outing. (We called in at Hawkins Bazaar with a fiver for Ben to spend and this naff plastic diver that you pull a drawstring and it makes his legs and flippers flap flap flap and kick through the water... of all the toys available, he had to choose that! Thankfully it "broke" on the way to the bus stop, so we put it in a bag until we got home. And miraculously, Ben managed to fix it when we got home! No idea how he did it, but it works again. He even showed daddy how to fix it when it broke at teatime. Impressive!

Bedtime very very soon. Time to get Ben out of the bath and see if he's willing to go to bed. Hmm. Let's see... place your bets now... I think I'll get ready for bed before trying to put him to bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.