Booky Goatherd

By Booky_Goatherd

Tuesday: The Lion And The Unicorn

Determined not to be left in my near blipless state of yesterday, I walked to work via South Bank where there is usually something worthwhile.  Imagine my delight, therefore, when I stumbled across this installation.  It is a poetry exhibit, linked to the London Festival of Literature, taking place until 14th July.  It is called 'The Lion And The Unicorn'.  

The poems suspended here are written by young people from refugee groups in the UK.  It echoes an earlier idea from the 1951 Festival of Britain where a similar project was launched, again featuring poetry from refugee communities, albeit 50 years ago.

I do feel a little bit of a fraud posting this - I love the written word but have an ambivalent attitude towards poetry.  I love prose but am lazy with poetry.  That said, I do have the greatest admiration for those that produce it, and those that enjoy it, particularly as I have always felt it a bit beyond me......

But happy that I had a blip in the bag I trotted off to work.

On another note, this is the second day I have had to backblip because trying to upload a photo at 2330 in the evening proved impossible in IT terms.  Curses!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.