Why...

are people so 'mealy mouthed'. We had a committee meeting after golf today, and it was brought to my attention that some people are not happy about my name going on the 'hole in one' trophy, as I didn't get my hole in one at our course. I pointed out that (i) I qualified for the Soledad cup at our course (ii) the course the final was played on is our 'sister' course, (iii) I was one of 120 players (iv) I had my Las Ramblas club shirt on therefore I was representing las Ramblas and (v) the hole in one was scored on the par 3 16th which is 150 yards and the most difficult par 3 on the course.

I did offer to have a new plate made and my name taken off and I also offered to buy a trophy for people who scored a hole in one but not on our course, both these suggestions were rejected.

It was also pointed out that I hadn't bought anyone a drink and I should donate my prize to the club (I don't think so), my prize being 2 VIP tickets to the Motogp final in Valencia.

Our President has now made a decision that any member of our golf club who scores a 'hole in one' on a course in Spain, can have their name put on the trophy, hallelujah, a victory for common sense!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.