Fi

By Fi

Boy Race-ers

Arrived yesterday afternoon and eagerly watched the goings on, sights and smells in the cab from the airport into the city. I met up with two other short-term working-holiday makers who were, like me, there to help out with the heavy work-loads at our Istanbul office. One of them I trained back in 2005, so it was good to find out what happened to the other delegates from his course and hear about his 'career' that has landed him a posting in Lagos! The other guy, Sean, called it a night in time for the last metro to his flat in one of the suburbs (he's staying for 3 months...) while James and I chewed the fat over several Efes' until silly o'clock in the morning....

Once a floater....!*


----------------------

Sunday morning was a lazy one - just caught breakfast before it finished at 11! And then I was off to meet up with some old colleagues (and my new partner in crime, James) outside work (so I know where to go tomorrow) and to catch a minibus which was to take us to the Istanbul Jockey Club, for a day at the races! I think the last time I went to the races, was in Mumbai in 2007... and with some of the people I was with today! Splendid it was too, with our entry tickets getting a bit more than general admission. This was captured at the moment when one of the race winners was presented with his trophy and other prizes on the top tier of the grandstand. Not something that girls go to then!

* Reference to my previous job way back at the start of my journal...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.