Hunting Unicorns

By huntingunicorns

Day 8_Childhood Memory

It took me some time to figure out what object leads me back to my childhood memory lane. I was battling with taking photos of my Sesame Street shirts and rummaging through our hanging cabinet to look for something that can take me back time. Apparently, those two initial contenders didn't pass the standards. To start with I do not entirely associate Sesame Street as something isolated with my childhood. I have been wearing their characters in my shirts even until now and they are not particularly categorized as things that push me back to nostalgia. And secondly, I am not pretty certain to what awaits me in the closet - some things I would insist to be nostalgic, perhaps,but in reality doesn't really hold ground.

So there I was again, treading through memory lane both the old past and the recent past. Mentally, I trod the way I regularly pass towards work. Then I realize that on the path of trees I walk everyday, the only group of bushes that bear flowers are the same as the ones in the front yard of our neighbor, Nana Azon. This was the yard where I together with my brothers and cousins grew up spending our childhood playing and killing time. When I think of the flower I see the busted water pump still erected in a slab of cement in the middle of the yard; I smell the freshly watered plants and the dampened afternoon soil, or the lingering whiff of newly burnt dried leaves; and I can hear children laughing together, milling around with the adults' easy banters in the background. And truly, I can't help it but be a consenting party of nostalgia.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.