Hunting Unicorns

By huntingunicorns

Day 9_Something Blue

I find it highly ironical that, yes, I worked in the place of the Blues but I had hard time figuring out what to work on for today's challenge - something blue. I was, of course, looking for something remarkable than merely stating what is a fact. In other words, I am claiming that taking a blue thing out of the Blue country is the easiest way out and wouldn't be given a high mark with myself setting my own standards.

With defiant heart I went home empty handed. Not totally frustrated albeit challenged on what to find in the lair of possibilities I call my room. As I entered my room, I noticed that my eyes had been extra sensitive to any thing colored blue. The pens were seemingly calling me, my facial cream was almost hollering for my attention and for some time I was staring at the cap of our alcohol bottle with extra considering look. I thought I found my subject when my black coffee tumbler with blue lid caught my attention as I continued my hunt. But I was wrong, though, immediately I was seeing beyond physical meaning if ever I took it as my subject. I tried several shots with the tumbler but I was not satisfied.

I went on searching for subjects. I walked near the blue curtain and tried several transparent shots of the window grills. Still not pleased, I pulled the curtain aside. I was observing how the remaining light of the afternoon lit my small room when I noticed our blue water jug! The entire thing is blue but what struck me the most is the protective lid seal with a friendly warning printed - REFUSE IF THE SEAL IS BROKEN.

Voila! I found my Day 9. I was astonished how wheeling back and forth my shutter speed dials cut the background to black. I was more surprised on how the RAW file saved photographers their worries on losing extra little details. I played around the white balance check, prolly I will be using them any time soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.