Step Cautiously

By alixmarie11

"I just peed on nature. It felt great!"

For those of you wondering what the hell is up with the title of this Blip, it was said by my best friend Alyssa. For those of you who are new to my Blip Blog, educate yourself.

Took a trip to Tunxis Mead today with Alyssa. It was absolutely gorgeous out kinda. It had just finished raining when we started our adventure, so when we got to a quaint little clearing near the Farmington River, we saw the slightest rainbow glistening overhead.

I would have put up that photo had I really loved it I love all my photos. Yet, when i was flipping through my pictures of the day, I found myself really leaning toward this one. I found out yesterday that I am related to the great transcendentalist writer, Ralph Waldo Emerson. I was determined to find a picture that showed the highest respect for nature and the natural world while also commenting on the world we have in front of us.

This picture emulates that concept perfectly if you ask me. Just look at how intricately the thin vine wraps its way around the thicker branch. It shows the complexity, yet perfection of nature. More importantly however, it shows the necessary co-dependence of nature. Without the support of the stronger tree limb, the smaller, weaker vine would not have had a sufficient place to grow, thus stalling natural production.

It's an interesting and almost foreign concept to us that in order for the little guy to flourish, the stronger must avail themselves to the aid of the dependent. Especially in a society so stuck in the belief of Social Darwinism and the proper order of society, the concept of social equality or even just social support seems so unnecessary and even ignorant. Yet if you just take a second and look past the nature of the picture and look at the harmonics and the intricacies of the vine and branch coupled together, you may just catch a glimpse of the extraordinary production that could result from the harmony between benefactor and dependent.

Quote:
"It's not what you see that tells the story, but what you hear."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.