Step Cautiously

By alixmarie11

Roots.

Found out more about my ancestry today. It's amazing how much you can learn about yourself when you learn about the people who came before you.

As it happens, "or as Bukonon would say, 'as it was supposed to happen'" I have a long line of scholars, war heroes, writers, artists, politicians, and engineers in my family's history. As it so happens, as it was supposed to happen I too possess and am interested in all the previously mentioned fields. I have incredible math and science skills, clearly I am a coherent writer, and I believe my pictures speak for themselves on behalf of my artsy gene. As for the politician side of me, you wouldn't see that part unless you knew me. But trust me, it's present.

They always say you can learn a lot about your future from your past. Now, I don't know who they are, but I sure wish I could have found this information prior to now to at least know I was on a path paved by my ancestors. Nature vs. nurture again I suspect. This time I'm siding with nature. I grew up in a family of engineers, a family of problem solvers. Now while I'm all for a good puzzle, I find them boring and tedious after a while. I want to spend my time exploring the world that doesn't have one right or wrong answer. I want to be able to interpret for myself and use my knowledge and experience to possibly discover a new truth from a looking glass that has never been seen before.

The excitement they find in numbers, I find in a still puddle in the road on a clearing day or the sweet smell of rain as it lingers in the air before a storm. I want to feel the wind blowing through my hair and think about the butterfly wings that flapped in order to cause that gust. I don't want to be too busy crunching numbers to miss the taste of the crisp atmosphere during that magical first winter snow.

There are some things in life that we miss. I'm glad I could find my family history. I did not want to miss this.

Quote:
"So much of me is made of what I learned from you. You'll be with me; like a hand-print on my heart."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.