This girl

has a wonderful mum. I won't hear anybody say otherwise.

Her mum is a good friend of ours. She would do anything she could to help anyone. Her eldest is a great friend of James, and this little angel gives me the biggest smiles and pulls the most mischievous of faces whenever I see her. They are well fed, clothed and, most importantly, they are loved, completely and utterly by her. Her children are everything to her.

You can imagine my utter horror then, when this evening, we all walked round there to have an hour with the kids playing and the grown ups drinking tea and having a chat, and she shared with me some utterly horrible things that others have said about her and ability as a mother. Despicable, hateful, nastiness. I won't go into it, but if I tell you that angelface in the picture there is in pretty much her normal state of presentation, then you would be perhaps shocked to hear that others have suggested she is neglected.

It does my head in, particularly when the people who pass judgement are not so spotless and squeaky clean themselves. In fact, not so long ago, we left a little gathering one afternoon because one of them was so outrageously obnoxious at 6pm on a Sunday, having taken advantage of my friend's hospitality all afternoon. Rude, lairy and just unpleasant in the extreme.

No-one is perfect. Jeepers, even I know that I am far from a perfect mother. But I know something - I trust my friend with my own child, completely, and he stays there often enough for me to know that he is looked after, cared for and treated well. James loves spending time there and has told my friend that he loves going to her house. I trust his judgement about her far more than some woman who allegedly calls herself a friend but then runs off telling tall tales and spreading malicious, unfounded gossip. That is NOT what friends do.

So, my lovely friend - when we return from our holidays, you will come round to OURS and you will be looked after for an evening, as it is always you that gives and gives and gives. As for anybody who thinks less of you than you deserve, they aren't worth your energy or your love.

xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.