Helter-skelter

By Juli

Southern Hawker.

Mooched about at home for most of the day then took the kids up to a sort of fun-fair on the village green - lots of inflatable bouncy-slidy things and an ever-popular tea cup ride. Things took a bit of a sinister turn when our resident village idiot (aged 8) pulled off an air-tube attached to the generator and a bouncy-house collapsed with my children inside it. Have you ever tried to lift the roof of one of those things? Not easy! Still, only two years left till he reaches the age of criminal responsibility.

Meanwhile, on a lighter note, earlier in the day we were very excited to see this dragonfly by our pond. It was HUGE (for a dragonfly) and at first I thought it was a 'Club-tailed dragonfly', which is rare but it is, in fact, a female 'Southern Hawker', which is common. I was a bit disappointed to find the blade of grass in front of her face when I downloaded it but, common or not, this was the first one I've ever seen so I still thought it was worth a blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.