Five things

By fivethings

The strange undoing of another August

1. Waking up to some heart sinking headlines linking us to effing Rupert Murdoch. A trawl through 4 years worth of e mails uncovers what we need. It all ends fine, but bloody hell...

2. Day one of the Festival for me. This is one of the venues we are performing in. It's perfect. I walked from the station for the start of the show and everything seemed normal til I turned the corner and woof it's fesitval time. The atmosphere is light and summery, people are out en masse and it stops feeling like a work day.

3. I visit the jumble sale that is Habitat. It's stupid to feel sentimental about what is essentially a business failing, but I have a soft spot for Habitat. I've been meaning to buy the garland light shade for years and today I realise it's my last chance. Even though they are stripped bare and selling everything including the fixtures at slashed prices as I walk round I think what I always do 'ooh that's nice. bit dear though.'

4. If there was an award ceremony for baked potatoes, the one I made tonight would be best in show.

5. I text someone to ask that if instructions on a product say to switch the power off at the mains, do you really need to. Apparently yes. So after a bit of a faff, yet another new lampshade is up. It's jaggy, a total hassle but fairly pleasant to look at if you like that sort of thing. Bit like myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.