Ars Gratia Artis

Today I went to Margate to visit Turner Contemporary. First time there after all the years of trials and tribulations about where it would be built. The building itself is far from photogenic but there is some cool stuff inside and the coffee is nice. On the left in this image is a piece by Teresita Fernandez called Sfumato. Through the open doorway the hanging globes are by Russell Crotty. My main aim in taking this was the shot of two members of staff grabbing a quick chat; I liked the silhouette but could have done without the guy in shorts stepping out - try this beauty in big for the full effect. I also snapped the Daniel Buren but the piece I liked most was actually made up of a sound and a piece of moving art and a still image wouldn't have caught the motion. If you get a chance to go please do if only for the Shawcross installation. I've bunged a few on Flickr.

Lovely Tuesday and now it's time for strawberries and cream

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.