Plus ça change...

By SooB

Busy busy busy

I know I've been a very bad blipper lately. Too much back-blipping, and no chance to keep up with all the busy lives I follow in blipland. We've had visitors this week, and with all the food, wine and outings and a super-cute wee fella to play with, there hasn't been much time for anything else. However, the visitors are blip lurkers and have been complaining that if I don't keep blip up to date, how are they supposed to know what they've been doing.

So here goes. I will catch up with the backblips soon...

Super-hot day today - high 30s with a breeze too hot to do any good. I popped out early to take Katherine to her lesson (where a stern talk was necessary with her teacher to make sure we actually have some progress for all the money we're paying). Instead of going home in the short period before collection time, I parked by a wildflower meadow I'd spotted nearby and had a very enjoyable (if hot) 50 minutes snapping away. Kneeling on the stony ground to get these photos of bees has left me with interestingly hurt knees - so next time I will remember to take one of the kids' swimming floats to kneel on. Lovely to have a bit of time to muck about with the camera though.

After a leisurely start to the day for the rest of them, we headed out to the market in Lavaur, and on for a wander round town. I had many errands to run so didn't get much of the leisurely wander, but did get to apologise to the nice lady at the bank for missing the appointment I was supposed to be at last Tuesday and totally forgot. Then Mr B's phone needed charging up with credit, and happily the nice lady in the Tabac sensed my incompetence and offered to call up the automated phone line and put the credit on the phone for me. "Tres compliqué" she said at the end. Good job I didn't try it then.

Home for lunch, then enforced siestas for the children to prepare them for the eagerly anticipated 'movie night'. Of course what mainly happened was the kids played on an assortment of devices while the grown ups snoozed around them. Instead of snoozing I was off to the doctors for yet another poorly understood explanation of what medicine is needed and how things work here. One day I'll get it. Home to stand in the paddling pool (ahhhh, so cooling) and get over the after-effects of too long in a car with no aircon (which cannot be fixed until September when everyone is back from holidays).

Our lovely guests are making Sri Lankan curry tonight, so we are off chef-ing duties and hence I have blip-time. I also have a very cooling glass of Pimms by my side and someone else has bathed the kids. I'm therefore feeling rather spoilt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.