Year Three

By RobotChicken

First of the Lasts

Several months ago when I was leaving the UK to live in another country, there became a list of "Lasts".

It was the last Tunnel Run I'd be on, the last Krispy Kreme (the next time would be as a visitor), the last Ace Cafe meet (next time as a visitor), last time i'd meet various people for at least a year. It was strange to be doing things "for the last time".

But I've come back for work and now there are a different set of 'lasts'.

And today is the last time I'll be crossing the channel to France (for at least a year). The end of the season is still nearly a month away, but I'm staying on the continent to keep my costs low. I could come back next week, but spending another £80 on ferry, another £30 on fuel, etc - or staying out in France and sleeping rough, £0, I'd prefer to save the £130 this time. Going back to the UK achieves next to nothing anyway.

It's kinda a sad trip as well. As much as I hate being away I do enjoy what I do, and next season will be very different. Might still be in Europe for the summer season, just not with StreetSafari, a lot less travelling, but hopefully a lot more money. Although I will be back for our Staples2Naples 10th Anniversary event at the very least.

It's all part of the mindf*ck this year; finally getting to start a life with my wife and then getting yanked back to the UK again for the season. Talk about being torn between things you love!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.