Et Aetatis

By Biota

Thursdays are still my favorite day of the week.

When the slightest noise keeps you up, ear plugs are surprisingly effective. Slept the soundest that I have in a week.

So I started off my day well-rested, got to catch up with both Alex and Ben, and then my Social-Organizational Psych professor agreeing to sponsor my thesis! As an honors student, one of the requirements is that you complete a thesis pertaining to your major, but a precursor to starting the thesis is first experiencing research and then enrolling in an independent study, all under a sponsoring professor. But you choose which professor you want as a mentor based on mutual interests, and every single industrial-organizational psych professor I contacted couldn't take on an honors student. This was a point of concern and caused me to pray a ton of times last semester about still being able to graduate with honors...and then figured maybe God thought I was taking on too much and didn't want to add a thesis to my workload. :P

On the first day of class, my impression of my Soc-Org professor was that he's a really nice guy; he thanked us for enrolling in his class, saying that as students we're not given enough credit for supporting the interests of professors by paying tuition and making the necessary sacrifices to support the university. Even though he's only a graduate student, on a whim I decided to e-mail him and politely begged for him to consider helping me get my thesis done. He responded that I could enroll in the one-credit research course through his sponsoring professor but report directly to him. The fact that he's willing to take on extra work for the sake of helping one of his students means so much to me, and I'm glad God gave me this opportunity...I'm so excited to start my thesis!

Now I may be dropping one of my three-credit courses to make room for the research, which unfortunately could mean that I'll need to stay on an extra semester. *sigh* On the other hand, I may like to push my limits, but seven classes with research on top of that would really be crazy.

The day ended with the first InterVarsity meeting of the semester...We had a goal of ten new members, and waaay more than that (I think at least thirty) showed up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.