Year Three

By RobotChicken

Romania Day 2 (RatRod Rally Day 5) - Day 55/62

We managed to get into Romania last night and ended up staying in a pensiune. They gave us the VIP Room (I think that's what he said), for 17E per person (there are 2 of us). Bargain.

We gave up trying to find a campsite in the end (didn't realise Romania was an hour ahead of EU time which we've been on either). What we did discover was about 2-3 campsites about 5km down the road this morning.

But hey, it was a nice room last night, and came just at the right point (and right price).
The picture above is just before Sibiu in a horrid traffic jam. Never really did find out why the jam existed, but it gave us 40 minutes to chill out.

Annoying I met another policeman today. Speeding 77km/h in a 50km/h zone. But heck, Goat looked good on the video as it zoomed round the corner, and my reactions are pin sharp as you saw me hitting the brakes real early. But hitting the brakes is generally too late, I need to be able to foretell the future.

It looks like the E68 is absolutely stacked with cops, so I'm forgiven for this offense. Last year there wasn't a cop in sight on this road. Guess Romania's horrid RTA stats are starting to get to them. That, or the cops have a payroll to meet at the end of the month and are out in force collecting speeding fines.

Anyway, I gave them 70E and that was that. Pissed at getting caught, but I was flying at the time. Should have known better - cars with flashing lights are telling you about cops ahead! (And not about my dodgy new wonky headlamps that are currently illuminating tall buildings and overhead signs).

Thankfully though we paid for the Romanian vignette, replaced a headlight bulb the previous day (when we discovered it out), so they couldn't get me for any more than the speeding offense.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.