It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

My friend Rob

Ohhh my! What a week! I don't want may like that again! I don't like being sad or making others sad!

I met Rob after work at his....fortunately he's right beside Piccadily so it was only a small walk to the Northern Quarter. He'd never even seen Northern Tea Power before and I was quite excited about buying him an espresso.

Wayne was excited too as he'd got the new NTP espresso blended specifically for him by Steve at Has Bean. I stupidly had a cakey biscuity cherry thing before hand so my pallet wasn't perfect for tasting. Still, it was rich with just a hint of sweetness, a reasonable crema and it felt nice in the mouth. I think it suits NTP more than the first blend, while more memorable, it was just a bit too complex even for me. Rob gave a knowing nod, saying it was brilliant, but I got the impression that it was a similar dynamic to Oz Clarke going on about a wonderful Sassicaia 1987 to James May, who is thinking that its quite similar to a Taste the Difference bottle of Blue Nun. We then both had a really nice blonde beer from Brussels! It was sweet n yummy.

We then went to this cool wee bar near Picadilly Basin that served really good real ales! Even better... it was Scottish week. I chose a Black Isle Golden Eye IPA and then went on to bore him about the golden eye ducks Rosemary and I had seen in a loch while canoeing in Speyside. The IPA was brill....floral and quite hoppy and nice in the mouth.

I decided to go home after that, even though I was meant to meet people from work in Trof. I was far too in the mood to drink to much, but I'm being more sensible with age (well....I think it's more to do with Rosemary).




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.