Look what we have got!

Went out this morning to feed and clean out the caterpillars and discovered that we have 4 that have turned into chrysalis. Not sure who is more excited me or the children. Oh who am I kidding it's me!!!!! I've never seen one before.
I have lost a few caterpillars though to what I thought were spider eggs but when I looked it up they are small black wasps that lay their eggs inside the caterpillar and then they hatch, eat the caterpillar from the inside (yuck) out and come out in larva form before hatching and continuing the same cycle. Great if you don't want caterpillars on your cabbages not so great if you have a caterpillar farm! Got a few more just about to become chrysalis too so should have butterflies in 1-2 weeks time.

Back blip of Alannah and baby Freya <----- that way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.