Family Dog

By Family_Dog

floating...

I have been desperate to hang up Arlo's clothes outside since we got home. To shake out all the little babygro's and vests, pin them up neatly and watch them waft and wave about in the breeze.

I haven't been able to because I had to get an emergency C Section so no bending or stretching or well, anything really. I FINALLY managed to convince Bry to put the line out with a lot of slack so that it would come to a good height for me to hang up all the lovely things and make my statement to the world - it's official everybody, I'm a mummy. The little thing that has been growing inside me all this time, causing worry and excitement in equal measure is finally here!! See? You can tell that by the little scratch mits and the vests that have baby rabbits on them....it's official!

I remember my mum wrote me a poem once that had a line in it about how much she loved the feeling of the breeze on her ankles as she hung out her washing. Ever since then I've always felt this real calm when hanging stuff up. Oh it probably seems mad to you, but to me, there's a real simplicity to hanging up some washing. A few moments in your day where life is calm. And then it goes back to normal.

Thank you ALL so very much for your lovely comments about Arlo. He is an absolute star and thank the stork, we appear to have been blessed with a sleeper....yeah I know it's early days yet, but let me speak too soon please.

There is a new feeling around our house. It is a feeling of being complete. Bryan and I were always close, always important to each other. Now it's magnified. I didn't think it was possible. We sit and we watch our son and we look at each other and everything we've ever done suddenly seems to make sense.

Oh. The joy.

p.s - for those of you wondering about Arlo's name - have a look at this....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.